lookin' at you, Joe Barton

Climate Hawks Vote Condemns 69 Disaster Deplorables

Sixty-nine Republicans in the the House of Representatives voted against the $36 billion relief package for the survivors of climate disasters including hurricanes that struck Puerto Rico, Texas, and Florida, and wildfires now devastating California. Requiring a two-thirds vote, the bill was passed 353-69 thanks to unanimous Democratic support. As the U.S. Senate is not in session, this bill can’t become law until next week at the earliest.

RL Miller, cofounder of Climate Hawks Vote, states: “The Republicans who voted to leave our citizens to suffer as greenhouse pollution fuels ever more extreme and deadly disasters should resign immediately. They are disasters. They are deplorables. And the worst are Texas Republicans like Joe Barton who voted to deny relief to their own state.”

In September, 107 Republicans — 90 House members and 17 Senators — voted against climate disaster relief. In total, 104 House Republicans have voted against climate disaster relief at least once, and 55 have voted against relief twice.

The 69 Disaster Deplorables

Mo Brooks (AL-05)
Gary Palmer (AL-06)
French Hill (AR-02)
Paul Gosar (AZ-04)
Andy Biggs (AZ-05)
David Schweikert (AZ-06)
Trent Franks (AZ-08)
Ken Buck (CO-04)
Doug Lamborn (CO-05)
Jody Hice (GA-10)
Barry Loudermilk (GA-11)
Rod Blum (IA-01)
Jackie Walorski (IN-02)
Jim Banks (IN-03)
Todd Rokita (IN-04)
Luke Messer (IN-06)
James Comer (KY-01)
Thomas Massie (KY-04)
Andy Barr (KY-06)
Mike Johnson (LA-04)
Andy Harris (MD-01)
Jack Bergman (MI-01)
Justin Amash (MI-03)
Mike Bishop (MI-08)
Jason Lewis (MN-02)
Tom Emmer (MN-06)
Jason Smith (MO-08)
Trent Kelly (MS-01)
George Holding (NC-02)
Walter Jones (NC-03)
Virginia Foxx (NC-05)
Mark Walker (NC-06)
David Rouzer (NC-07)
Richard Hudson (NC-08)
Robert Pittenger (NC-09)
Mark Meadows (NC-11)
Ted Budd (NC-13)
Steve Pearce (NM-02)
Steve Chabot (OH-01)
Brad Wenstrup (OH-02)
Jim Jordan (OH-04)
Bob Gibbs (OH-07)
Warren Davidson (OH-08)
Markwayne Mullin (OK-02)
Scott Perry (PA-04)
Keith Rothfus (PA-12)
Mark Sanford (SC-01)
Jeff Duncan (SC-03)
Ralph Norman (SC-05)
Kristi Noem (SD-AL)
Jimmy Duncan (TN-02)
Scott DesJarlais (TN-04)
Marsha Blackburn (TN-07)
David Kustoff (TN-08)
Louie Gohmert (TX-01)
John Ratcliffe (TX-04)
Jeb Hensarling (TX-05)
Joe Barton (TX-06)
Kenny Marchant (TX-24)
Roger Williams (TX-25)
Chris Stewart (UT-02)
Tom Garrett (VA-05)
Bob Goodlatte (VA-06)
Dave Brat (VA-07)
Morgan Griffith (VA-09)
Jim Sensenbrenner (WI-05)
Sean Duffy (WI-07)
Mike Gallagher (WI-08)
Alex Mooney (WV-02)

Paid for in part by Climate Hawks Vote Political Action. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.

Get Updates