February 13, 2017

Rob Feckner, President, CalPERS Board of Administration California Public Employees' Retirement System P.O. Box 942701 Sacramento, CA 94229-2701

Dear Mr. Feckner:

CalPERS should divest from the Dakota Access Pipeline companies immediately. We are pleased that such a course of action is under active consideration by the board.

The California Public Employees Retirement System (CalPERS) has significant direct holdings in Energy Transfer Partners (ETP), Energy Transfer Equity (ETE), and Sunoco Logistics Partners (SXL), the companies building the fracked-oil Dakota Access Pipeline through the Standing Rock Sioux sacred lands in North Dakota.

In the process of construction to date, Energy Transfer Partners has already damaged numerous sacred sites and plans to drill under the Missouri River, the sole drinking water source of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe. As expected, the incoming Trump administration is ramming this foolhardy project through.

AB 20, a bill introduced in the State Assembly by Assemblymember Ash Kalra, would require the fund's divestment from these companies by 2018. We urge a vote in support of AB 20 by the Investment Committee at its meeting on Monday, February 13th (agenda item 6b).

California has a clear responsibility to lead the nation in meeting the existential challenges climate change poses for all of our people, not least the Native American tribes aligned with the Standing Rock Sioux. As governments must act to keep carbon reserves in the ground, the risk of investment in fossil fuel production and transport is increasing along with global temperatures.

The elected representatives and and public officials who oversee the fund—including California Governor Jerry Brown, California Treasurer John Chiang, and Controller Betty Yee— have a responsibility to the people of California, to CalPERS members and beneficiaries, and to all people to make ethical and responsible investments and to reduce risk. Divesting from DAPL serves both objectives.

We look forward to a decision by the CalPERS board to stand with Standing Rock and divest from the Trump-approved Dakota Access Pipeline.

Sincerely,

The Undersigned

RL Miller President Climate Hawks Vote

Deborah Silvey Board Chair Fossil Free California

Dallas Goldtooth Keep it in the Ground Campaigner Indigenous Environmental Network

Carter James Organizer Students for a Just and Stable Future

Debbie Mytels Coordinator Peninsula Interfaith Climate Action

Markos Moulitsas Founder/Publisher Daily Kos

Paul Paz y Miño Associate Director Amazon Watch

Eric Lerner Climate and Health Director Health Care Without Harm

Shirley Eglington Facilitator Cool Planet Working Group of First Presbyterian Church Palo Alto

Daphne Wysham Director, Climate Justice Program Center for Sustainable Economy Eric Lerner Climate and Health Director Health Care Without Harm

Mark Magana President GreenLatinos

Vanessa Green Campaign Director DivestInvest Individual

Chris Brown Facilitator Sacramento Climate Coalition

Dave Garcia Executive Board Member Chico 350.org

Fran Teplitz Executive Co-Director Green America

Adam Scow California Director Food & Water Watch

Jeff Conant International Forests Program Director Friends of the Earth

Michaela Mujica-Steiner Director of Leadership Development Earth Guardians

Lisa Anne Hamilton Director, Climate & Energy CIEL Lydia Avila Executive Director Power Shift Network

Mary Gutierrez Executive Director Earth Action, Inc.

Garrett Blad Executive Coordinator SustainUS

Steve Kretzmann Executive Director Oil Change International

Ross Hammond US Campaigns Director Stand.earth Josh Nelson Deputy Political Director CREDO

Chris Brown Facilitator Sacramento Climate Coalition

Alan Weiner Chapter Lead 350 Conejo / San Fernando Valley

Michelle Romero Deputy Director Green For All

Darcy Sweeney Steering Committee Member 350 Sonoma

cc: Henry T. Jones, chair, Investment Committee cc: John Chiang, State Treasurer, Investment Committee member cc: Betty Yee, State Controller, Investment Committee member cc: Marcie Frost, CalPERS Chief Executive Officer